Post-9-What-Is-Spirit-Religion- ما بعد XNUMX؟

تأجير الأرحام والدين

يعتبر تأجير الأرحام دائمًا موضوعًا ساخنًا في منتديات الإنترنت ، لأنه يسبب الكثير من الأسئلة المثيرة للجدل من وجهة النظر الأخلاقية. كقاعدة عامة ، من بين الحجج ضد تأجير الأرحام تظهر الحجج اللاهوتية ، والتي لها تأثير قوي جدًا على المؤمنين ، الذين يعانون من العقم ويخشون اتخاذ خطوة إلى الأمام يمكن أن تساعدهم في إنجاب الطفل الذي يصلون من أجله. دعونا نرى كيف تظهر تقنيات المساعدة على الإنجاب وتأجير الأرحام بشكل خاص في الديانات العالمية ومدى مرونة هؤلاء الدينيين مع مرور الوقت والتطور التكنولوجي للمجتمع. 

تأجير الأرحام والمسيحية

الكتاب الرئيسي لجميع المسيحيين - لا يذكر الكتاب المقدس تأجير الأرحام مباشرة ، مثل هذه التقنية التي نستخدمها اليوم (إخصاب في المختبر) من الواضح أنه لم يكن معروفًا في وقت كتابة الكتاب المقدس. لذلك ، الشيء الوحيد الذي يمكننا القيام به هو إيجاد قواعد مشتركة ذات صلة في هذه الحالة ومحاولة تكييفها مع المشاكل الأخلاقية الحديثة وتفسيرها وفقًا لجوهر الكتاب المقدس.

من ناحية ، يعرّف الكتاب المقدس الزواج على أنه اتحاد بين شخصين ويمكن أن يكون الأبناء نتيجة لهذا الاتحاد (تكوين 1:28 ، 2:24). نرى في مزمور 127: 3 أن الأطفال هم هدية للأزواج ولا ينعم بها الجميع.

ماذا يقول الكتاب المقدس؟

من ناحية أخرى ، يمكننا العثور على قصص قليلة حول شيء أطلقنا عليه في الوقت الحاضر "تأجير الأرحام التقليدي" والذي لا يُستخدم في عيادات التلقيح الاصطناعي (يتم تأجير الأرحام التقليدي عندما تكون الأم البديلة مرتبطة جينيًا بالطفل ؛ في الوقت الحاضر نستخدم "تأجير الأرحام الحملي" عندما تكون الأم البديلة حاملة لطفل فقط ، ولكن ليس لها صلة وراثية بها).

تكوين 30: 1-24 تقول: "لما رأت راحيل أنها لم تلد ليعقوب ، حسدت أختها. فقالت ليعقوب: أعطني بنين وإلا أموت. فحمي غضب يعقوب على راحيل ، فقال: "ألعلني مكان الله الذي منع عنك ثمر البطن؟" فقالت هوذا خادمي بلهة. ادخلي إليها حتى تلد نيابة عني ، حتى أنجب من خلالها أطفالًا ". فاعطته بلهة جاريتها زوجة ، فدخل عليها يعقوب. وحبلت بلهة وولدت ليعقوب ابنا.

تكوين 16: 1-16 تقول: "وساراي امرأة أبرام لم تلد له بنين. لها خادمة مصرية اسمها هاجر. فقالت ساراي لابرام هوذا قد منعني الرب من الانجاب. ادخل الى عبدي. قد أحصل على أطفال بواسطتها ". وسمع أبرام لصوت ساراي. لذلك ، بعد أن عاش أبرام عشر سنين في أرض كنعان ، أخذت ساراي ، امرأة أبرام ، هاجر المصرية ، خادمتها ، وأعطتها لابرام زوجها. ودخل إلى هاجر فحملت <…> وولدت هاجر ابنا ، ودعا أبرام اسم ابنه الذي ولدته هاجر إسماعيل. 16 كان أبرام ابن ست وثمانين سنة عندما ولدت هاجر إسماعيل لأبرام ”.

افعل كل شيء لمجد الله

لذا ، في الواقع ليست هذه هي الحالات التي لدينا اليوم بالضبط. نحن لا نتقدم بطلب للحصول على تأجير الأرحام التقليدي ، مثل أم بديلة هي فقط حاملة لجنين تم وضعه في رحمها في المختبر ، ليس بسبب الاتصال الجنسي مع الأب الجيني ، كما هو موصوف في الكتاب المقدس ولا يزال مقبولاً ، وهذا الجنين يتطور إلى الجنين داخل رحمها. نعم ، لم يكن الله قد وعدك بإنجاب طفل ، لكن هل هذا يعني أنه لا يمكنك الكفاح من أجل رغبتك في أن تكون والداً إذا سمحت التقنيات بذلك؟

نقترح أنه لا حرج في تأجير الأرحام فيما يتعلق بقواعد الكتاب المقدس التي وجدناها ويجب أن يكون قرارك بنسبة 100٪ الخضوع لتأجير الأرحام كطريقة لعلاج العقم أم لا. سواء كنت تأكل أو تشرب أو أي شيء تفعله ، افعل كل شيء لمجد الله (كورنثوس 10:31).

موقف الكنيسة الكاثوليكية

لكن الكنيسة الكاثوليكية أعربت عن موقفها الرسمي بطريقة أخرى. نصت الوثيقة المسماة Donum Vitae على أن "الأمومة البديلة تمثل إخفاقًا موضوعيًا في الوفاء بالتزامات حب الأم والإخلاص الزوجي والأمومة المسؤولة ؛ أنه يسيء إلى كرامة وحق الطفل في أن يُنجب ، ويُحمل في الرحم ، وينتقل إلى العالم وينشأ على يد والديه ؛ فهي تضع ، على حساب العائلات ، الفصل بين العناصر الجسدية والنفسية والأخلاقية التي تتكون منها تلك العائلات ".

لسوء الحظ ، لم يتم تحديد كيفية الإضرار بالمؤسسة الاجتماعية للأمومة وكرامة الطفل الذي يُحمل في رحم آخر. بالمناسبة ، لا تسمح الكنيسة الكاثوليكية بمنع الحمل وأطفال الأنابيب. "هذا الإخصاب (التلقيح الاصطناعي) في حد ذاته غير مشروع ويتعارض مع كرامة الإنجاب والعلاقة الزوجية ، حتى عندما يتم كل شيء لتجنب موت الجنين البشري. على الرغم من أن الطريقة التي يتم بها تحقيق الحمل البشري مع التلقيح الاصطناعي و ET لا يمكن الموافقة عليها ، يجب على أي حال قبول كل طفل يأتي إلى العالم كهدية حية من الخير الإلهي ويجب تربيته بالحب ".

الكنيسة الكاثوليكية هي واحدة من أقوى الكنائس في العالم ولها تأثير كبير على أذهان الناس. ربما هذا هو السبب في حظر تأجير الأرحام في البلدان التي تسود فيها الكاثوليكية.  

موقف الكنيسة الأرثوذكسية

الكنيسة الأرثوذكسية الروسية ليست صارمة مثل الكاثوليكية. على سبيل المثال ، يُسمح هنا بالتلقيح الاصطناعي (بدون تبرع) لأن هذا الإجراء "لا يبدو أنه يختلف عن الحمل الطبيعي ويحدث داخل العلاقات الأسرية والزوجية". فيما يتعلق بتأجير الأرحام ، تحظر الكنيسة الأرثوذكسية الروسية ذلك تمامًا حتى لو تم على أساس الإيثار. على الجانب الآخر ، إذا كان الآباء الجينيون مستعدين للاعتراف بخطاياهم ، فإن الكنيسة الأرثوذكسية الروسية مستعدة لتعميد طفل يولد بهذه الطريقة. "حقيقة"ولادة بديلة"ليس في حد ذاته عقبة أمام معمودية الإنسان ، لأنه غير مسؤول عن سلوك والديه".

ومع ذلك ، تعد روسيا وأوكرانيا في الوقت الحاضر أكبر وجهات تأجير الأرحام لجميع الأزواج اليائسين.

الكنيسة الأرثوذكسية اليونانية يقترح الأزواج الذين يعانون من العقم أن يكون لديهم توجه روحي محدد جيدًا وأن يكونوا منتجين في مختلف مجالات الحياة الاجتماعية والروحية ، مما يجعل إيمانهم بالله أقوى ونضج أرواحهم. أوضحت الكنيسة أيضًا أنه من الصعب عليهم أن يباركوا ممارسة ART (الحمل غير الطبيعي واللاجنسي ، الحفاظ على الأجنة ، PGD إلخ) والإنجاب الذي يخل بالنظام العائلي الطبيعي كما هو ضد روح الكنيسة. في الوقت نفسه ، تقبل الكنيسة اليونانية التلقيح المتماثل داخل الرحم دون التبرع بالبويضات أو التلقيح الاصطناعي مع العدد الإجمالي للأجنة التي تم إنشاؤها إذا تم نقلها جميعًا إلى رحم الأم الوراثي (بالطبع ، فقط للأزواج من جنسين مختلفين الذين يعانون من العقم).

تأجير الأرحام والإسلام

يعتبر تأجير الأرحام في العالم الإسلامي أمرًا مثيرًا للجدل تمامًا ، لأنه يعتمد تمامًا من أي منظور تراقبه. يرتبط القانون والدين ببعضهما البعض ارتباطًا وثيقًا في البلدان الإسلامية. تستند الشريعة ليس فقط على الكتاب الرئيسي للمسلمين - القرآن ، ولكن أيضًا على الحديث أو السنة وأفكار علماء المسلمين.

هناك مدرستان مختلفتان: سنية وشيعية. السنة هم من أتباع محمد والشيعة هم من أتباع الإمام علي ابن عم محمد وحاكم الإسلام بعد وفاته. يرفض علماء السنة الأمومة البديلة ، لأن الأم البديلة ستحمل الطفل الذي تكونت من نطفة الرجل الآخر الذي لم تتزوج منه. وفقًا للإسلام ، فإن الزواج الشرعي هو المبدأ الوحيد لإنجاب الحياة ، لذا فإن الإنجاب لدى الطرف الثالث يمثل تحديًا في الإسلام.

من ناحية أخرى ، يسمح العلماء الشيعة بتأجير الأرحام كعلاج للعقم ، ولكن للأزواج فقط (وهذا هو السبب في أنها ممارسة معتادة في إيران أو لبنان) ، لأنهم يعتبرون الجنين نفسه جنينًا ، وهذا يختلف تمامًا عن الحيوانات المنوية الوراثية للأب. وفي نفس الوقت يعتبر نقل الأجنة بمثابة نقل جنين من رحم إلى آخر فلا إثم فيه.

هناك الكثير من الأزواج المصابين بالعقم في العالم الإسلامي. علاوة على ذلك ، يعتبر قانون الأسرة الإسلامي أن عقم الزوجة هو السبب الرئيسي للطلاق ، لذا فإن النساء اللائي ليس لديهن أطفال يتعرضن دائمًا لضغوط نفسية واجتماعية تؤدي إلى تدمير زواجهن. ومع ذلك ، فإن الزواج عادة لا ينهار بسبب عقم الذكور.

التبرع حرام في الإسلام ، حيث أن أهمية الأسرة والنسب وأقارب الدم ملحوظة في القرآن: "إنه (الله) الذي خلق البشرية من الماء ، ثم أقام علاقة النسب والزواج لربك. له سلطان على كل شيء ”(سورة الفرقان 25:54).

في تأجير الأرحام الوراثي بدون التبرع ، يكون تفكك النسب مستحيلًا ، كما يعرف الوالدان البيولوجيان بالفعل. لا يوجد أي زنا في إجراء نقل الأجنة الذي يتم إجراؤه في عيادة أطفال الأنابيب. السؤال الوحيد الذي يطرح نفسه هنا هو من هي الأم الحقيقية: الأم البديلة التي تلد الطفل أم الأم الجينية؟

يعرّف القرآن الأمومة على أنها: "إن أمهاتهن هن اللواتي حملنهن وولدنهن (سورة المجادلة 58: 2).

لذلك ، هناك ذكر عن العملية برمتها من لحظة الإخصاب ، بما في ذلك فترة الحمل والولادة. وبالتالي ، فإن القرآن ينكر دون قيد أو شرط أي حقوق للأم الجينية في اتفاقية تأجير الأرحام. من ناحية أخرى ، هناك الكثير من الأمثلة عندما كان القرآن يحظر العمل ، ولكن كان مسموحًا به على أي حال للضرورة والمنفعة العامة (استخدام الأنسولين المصنوع من لحم الخنزير أو حتى زرع الأعضاء التناسلية).

يقول النبي محمد: (لكل داء شفاء إلا الشيخوخة) (الحديث والبخاري والمسلم). لذلك ، في حال كنا نتحدث عن تأجير الأرحام عن طريقة علاج العقم وضرورة مطلقة للإنجاب ، فمن الممكن تمامًا لأن كلتا الأمهات (الأم البديلة والجينية) تتفقان مع أدوارهما في هذه العملية وسيساعد النظام القانوني في التنظيم من وضعهم القانوني.

كما هو مكتوب في القرآن "أرسلنا من قبلك رسلاً وعيننا لهم زوجات وأولاداً" (سورة الرعد 13: 38).

تأجير الأرحام والبوذية

انتشرت البوذية في جميع أنحاء آسيا وقسمت إلى ثلاثة فروع رئيسية ، لكل منها معتقدات وممارسات وفروق ثقافية مميزة: ثيرافادا البوذية في جنوب وجنوب شرق آسيا (سريلانكا وميانمار وتايلاند ولاوس وكمبوديا وفيتنام) ، البوذية ماهايانا في شرق آسيا (الصين وكوريا واليابان) وبوذية فاجرايانا في آسيا الوسطى (التبت).

تلتزم البوذية بوجهة النظر الهندية الأساسية ، وهي وجهة نظر مشتركة مع الهندوسية والجاينية ، وهي أن الوجود البشري جزء من دورة مستمرة لأعمار متعددة (سامسارا) تخضع ظروفها لأفعال الفرد أو أفعاله (كارما). ليس من المستغرب أن تقدم النصوص البوذية القليل من التوجيه المباشر في مثل هذه القضايا الحديثة مثل التلقيح الاصطناعي والتلقيح الاصطناعي.

نظرًا لأن البوذية تقدر عادةً نبذ الأفكار وتعتبر الزواج أو الطلاق شئون ثقافية أو مدنية وليست دينية ، فلا يوجد أمر كتابي هنا لتكون مثمرة ومضاعفة. وفي الوقت نفسه ، فإن البوذية ، على عكس المسيحية أو اليهودية أو الإسلام ، لا تجعل الإنجاب واجبًا أخلاقيًا.

من وجهة نظر الرهبان البوذيين ، تأجير الأرحام لا تحظره التعاليم البوذية. إذا تم تأجير الأرحام بروح الكرم ، فسيتم اعتبار تأجير الأرحام أمرًا جيدًا. العديد من النساء التايلنديات ، بصفتهن من أتباع بوذية الثيرافادا ، لديهن شعور قوي بالرغبة في أن يكونن نافعات لزملائهن من النساء اللاتي يعانين من عدم القدرة على الإنجاب. هناك أيضًا من يمتلك دافعًا قويًا للإيثار لمساعدة الناس في حالة تعليق التكفير عن خطاياهم لغرض ثامبون (تجميع الفضيلة). الجماهير التايلاندية ، الذين يؤمن 94 ٪ منهم بالثامبون والتقمص ، لديهم موقف متسامح تجاه تأجير الأرحام التجاري.

ومع ذلك ، إذا تم إجراء تأجير الأرحام بقصد ضار ، فإن استخدام الإجراء لتجاوز الطبيعة ، وإنجاب طفل لمنفعة شخصية بهدف إساءة استخدام النظام الطبيعي وكذلك التقليل من كرامة البشرية يعتبر خطأ.

وفقًا للتقاليد البوذية ، يحق للأطفال معرفة أصلهم منذ بلوغهم سن الرشد. نفس الوضع مع الهندوسية ، حيث يُسمح بتأجير الأرحام ، لكن التبرع المجهول غير مسموح به ، لأن الطفل لن يعرف نسبه.

تأجير الأرحام واليهودية

في الوقت الحاضر توجد ثلاث طوائف من اليهودية: اليهود الأرثوذكس (حوالي 10٪) ، واليهود المحافظين (حوالي 5٪) واليهود المصلحين (85٪).

الإنجاب هو الأمر الأول في التوراة: "أثمروا واكثروا واملأوا الأرض". التوراة لها نفس قصص تدخل طرف ثالث (تأجير الأرحام) مثل الكتاب المقدس. في ضوء ذلك ، فإن أطفال اليوم الذين يولدون دون انتهاك العلاقة الجنسية المقدسة للزواج ، وكذلك التلقيح الاصطناعي من قبل المتبرع لا يعتبرون من أعمال الزنا من قبل السلطات الشرعية.

الفئة الأخرى من تدخل الطرف الثالث الواردة في التوراة ، تدل على الاستعداد لإعادة صياغة الخطوط العائلية للتغلب على العقم. كان الاستمرارية المألوفة وإنجاب طفل قيمة كبيرة لدرجة أنها تجاوزت القاعدة المجتمعية للحدود الأسرية. عندما يموت رجل بدون أطفال ، يُطلب من أقاربه أن يتكاثروا مع الأرملة من أجل إدامة اسم المتوفى وذكراه. عندما توفي عير ، زوج تمار ، دون أن يكون له سبب ، قال والد زوجها ، يهوذا ، لابنه الثاني ، أونان: أخوك "(تكوين 32: 8).

لذلك ، من حيث المبدأ ، ترفض هالاخا المفهوم الشامل بأن كل شيء يجب أن "يتحقق في الفعل الزوجي حيث يتعاون الزوجان كخادمين وليس كأسيد في عمل الخالق الذي هو الحب". وبالنسبة لجميع طوائف اليهود ، يُسمح بالتلقيح الاصطناعي إذا كان إلزاميًا لأسباب الإنجاب. حتى أنه من الممكن إجراء التشخيص الوراثي قبل الزرع لأن الروح لا تدخل الجسد إلا بعد 40 يومًا (لا يوجد جسد بعد والجنين يعتبر "ماءً عارياً").

يقبل الحاخامات بشكل عام استخدام التكنولوجيا الطبية ، حيث "كما أن الشجرة لا تنمو إذا لم يتم تخصيبها أو حرثها أو إزالتها من الأعشاب الضارة - وحتى إذا نمت بالفعل ، ولكن بعد ذلك لم تُروى فإنها تموت. فالجسم مثل الشجرة: الدواء هو السماد والطبيب هو الفلاح ».

ومع ذلك ، لا تزال هناك بعض الخلافات الأخلاقية فيما يتعلق بعملية تأجير الأرحام. على سبيل المثال ، هناك سؤال مثل من هي الأم الشريعة للطفل: هي الأم البيولوجية أم الحملي؟ ليس واضحاً متى تبدأ الأمومة: هل هي لحظة الحمل أم في لحظة الولادة؟ هذا هو السبب في أن اليهود يفضلون أن تكون كل من الأمهات ، الحمل والوراثة ، يهوديات ، وذلك لتجنب أي مشاكل في المستقبل فيما يتعلق بسؤال ما إذا كان الطفل يهوديًا أم لا.

وكذلك الحال مع جمع الحيوانات المنوية لأي شكل من أشكال المساعدة على الإنجاب ، لأن العادة السرية ممنوعة. ولكن في الواقع ، حتى TESE مسموح به في حالة العقم ، حيث أن القاعدة الرئيسية لا تزال "أن تكون مثمرًا وتكاثر". حتى أنه تم ذكر في بعض المصادر أنه من الممكن اختيار جنس الزوجين إذا كان للزوجين أربعة أطفال على الأقل من نفس الجنس.

على أي حال ، لا ينصح بتأجير الأرحام لأي شخص وفقًا لليهودية. خلافًا لذلك ، من الأفضل العثور على حاخام جيد لكل زوجين مصابين بالعقم للحصول على المشورة المناسبة حول هذا الموضوع.

في الختام ، نريد أن نقول إن المصادر الأولية للنصوص الدينية هي بالطبع مهمة جدًا لفهم القيم الأخلاقية والمعنوية ، التي تحميها الإنسانية على مر العصور باعتبارها حقيقة مقدسة وثابتة. وفي الوقت نفسه ، نحتاج إلى أن نأخذ في الاعتبار أننا نعيش في عالم سريع التطور مشبع بالتقدم التقني ، مما يمنحنا القدرة على علاج الأمراض بطريقة جديدة ، كما لم نفعل من قبل. وإذا استطعنا في الوقت الحاضر علاج العقم باستخدام تقنيات الإنجاب المساعدة ، فنحن لا نتظاهر بأننا الله ، نحن نحاول فهم هذا العالم وعلى الأقل مساعدة الله في إعادة الحياة إليه. حتى لو تم عمل الجنين في ظروف معملية ، فإن الحياة لخلاياها الأولى يجب أن يمنحها الله.

المؤلف: Sukhanova Anna ، المستشار القانوني لمجموعة Pons Medical Group

شارك هذا المقال

العربية AR 简体中文 ZH-CN English EN Français FR Deutsch DE Italiano IT 日本語 JA Português PT Русский RU

إحجز موعد

fbpx
  • +41 615 000 516
  • info@surrogacybypons.com
  • Mon-Fri: 08:00AM - 07:00PM | Sat: 8:00AM - 5:00PM
  • PONS MEDICAL
  • GROUP
Post-9-What-Is-Spirituality-Religion-

Surrogacy and religion

Surrogacy is always a hot topic of Internet forums, as it causes a lot of contentious questions from the ethical point of few. As a rule, among the arguments against surrogacy appears theological ones, which have quite strong influence on the people of faith, who suffer from infertility and are afraid to make the step forward that can help them to get the baby they are praying for. Let’s see how the assisted reproductive technologies and surrogacy particularly appear in the worldwide religious and how flexible these religious become with the passage of time and technological development of the society. 

Surrogacy and Christianity

The main book of all Christians – the Bible doesn’t mention surrogacy directly, as this technique that we use today (IVF) obviously was not known on the time when the Bible was written. So, the only one thing we can do is to find common rules relevant in this case and try to adapt them to the modern moral problems and interpret it according to the crux of the Holy Scriptures.

On the one hand, the Bible defines marriage as a union between two people and children can be a result of that union (Genesis 1:28, 2:24). In Psalm 127:3 we see that children are a gift to couples and not everyone is blessed with them.

What does the Bible say?

On the other hand, we can find few stories about something that we called nowadays “traditional surrogacy” and that is not used in IVF Clinics (traditional surrogacy is when the surrogate mother is genetically related to the child; nowadays we use “gestational surrogacy” when the surrogate mother is only a carrier of a baby, but has no genetic link to it).

Genesis 30:1-24 says: “When Rachel saw that she bore Jacob no children, she envied her sister. She said to Jacob, “Give me children, or I shall die!” Jacob’s anger was kindled against Rachel, and he said, “Am I in the place of God, who has withheld from you the fruit of the womb?” Then she said, “Here is my servant Bilhah; go in to her, so that she may give birth on my behalf, that even I may have children through her.” So she gave him her servant Bilhah as a wife, and Jacob went in to her. And Bilhah conceived and bore Jacob a son”.

Genesis 16:1-16 says: “Now Sarai, Abram’s wife, had borne him no children. She had a female Egyptian servant whose name was Hagar. And Sarai said to Abram, “Behold now, the Lord has prevented me from bearing children. Go in to my servant; it may be that I shall obtain children by her.” And Abram listened to the voice of Sarai. So, after Abram had lived ten years in the land of Canaan, Sarai, Abram’s wife, took Hagar the Egyptian, her servant, and gave her to Abram her husband as a wife. And he went in to Hagar, and she conceived<…>And Hagar bore Abram a son, and Abram called the name of his son, whom Hagar bore, Ishmael. 16 Abram was eighty-six years old when Hagar bore Ishmael to Abram”.

Do it all for the glory of God

So, in reality this is not exactly the cases we have today. We do not apply for traditional surrogacy, as surrogate mother is only a carrier of an embryo that was putted into her uterus in the lab, not because of the sexual contact with the Genetic father, as it described in the Bible and still acceptable, and this embryo is developing to the baby inside her womb. Yes, you were not promised by God to have a Child, but does it mean that you cannot fight for your wish to be a parent if technologies allow this?

We suggest that there is nothing wrong with surrogacy related to the Holy Scriptures rules we found and it must be 100% your own decision to undergo surrogacy as a way of infertility treatment or not. As whether you eat or drink or whatever you do, do it all for the glory of God (Corinthians 10:31).

Position of the Catholic Church

However, the Catholic Church expressed its official position in another way. In the Document called Donum Vitae prescribed that “Surrogate motherhood represents an objective failure to meet the obligations of maternal love, of conjugal fidelity and of responsible motherhood; it offends the dignity and the right of the child to be conceived, carried in the womb, brought into the world and brought up by his own parents; it sets up, to the detriment of families, a division between the physical, psychological and moral elements which constitute those families”.

Unfortunately, it is not specified there how exactly it damages the social institution of motherhood and the dignity of the Child who is carried in another womb. By the way, contraception and IVF are not allowed by the Catholic Church. “Such fertilization (IVF) is in itself illicit and in opposition to the dignity of procreation and of the conjugal union, even when everything is done to avoid the death of the human embryo. Although the manner in which human conception is achieved with IVF and ET cannot be approved, every child which comes into the world must in any case be accepted as a living gift of the divine Goodness and must be brought up with love”.

Catholic Church is one of the strongest churches in the World and it has great influence on the people’s mind. Maybe that’s why in the countries where Catholicism prevails surrogacy is banned.  

Position of the Orthodox Church

The Russian Orthodox Church is not as strict as the Catholic one. For example, IVF (without donation) is allowed here as this procedure “does not appear to be any different from the natural conceiving and occur within family and marital relationships”. Regarding surrogacy, it is strictly forbidden by the Russian Orthodox Church even if it is done on the altruistic basis. On the other side, if the genetic Parents are ready to confess their sins, the Russian Orthodox Church is ready to baptize a baby born in such way. “The fact of a “surrogate birth” is not in itself an obstacle to the baptism of a person, because he is not responsible for the behavior of his parents”.

Nevertheless, nowadays Russia and Ukraine are the biggest surrogacy destinations for all desperate couples.

The Greek Orthodox Church suggests to the infertile couples to have a well-defined spiritual orientation and be productive in various fields of social and spiritual life, making their faith in God in this way more strong and their sole mare mature. The Church also clarified, that it is difficult for it to bless the practice of ART (unnatural and asexual conception, surplus embryos, PGD etc.) and childbearing that disturbs the normal family order as it is against to Church’s Spirit. At the same time the Greek Church accepts homologous intrauterine insemination without egg-donation or IVF with specific amount of embryos if all of them will be transferred into the Genetic mother uterus (of course, only for heterosexual married couples with infertility).

Surrogacy and Islam

In Muslim world surrogacy is a quite controversial thing, as it totally depends from which perspective you are observing it. The law and religion are closely related to each other in Muslim countries. The Sharia Law based not only on the main book of Muslims – the Quran, but also on Hadit or Sunna and thoughts of Islamic scholars.

There are two different schools there: Sunni and Shiite. Sunni are the followers of Mohammad and Shiite are the followers of Imam Ali, the cousin of Mohammad and the ruler of Islam after his death. Sunni scholars disallow surrogate motherhood, since the surrogate mother will carry the baby formed by other man’s sperm to whom she is not married. According to Islam, the legal marriage is the only precept for the procreation of life, so the third party reproduction is challenging in Islam.

On the other hand, Shiite scholars do permit surrogacy as a treatment of infertility, but only for married couples (that’s why it is usual practice in Iran or Lebanon), because they consider the embryo itself as a fetus, that is totally different from the genetic father’s sperm. At the same time, the embryo-transfer is considered as a transfer of an embryo from one uterus to another, so there is no sin in it.

There are a lot of infertile couples in Muslim world. Moreover, Islamic family law envisages wife’s infertility as the major ground for divorce, so childless women are always under the psychological and social pressure that their marriage will be destroyed. However, the marriage usually doesn’t break down on the ground of male infertility.

Donation is totally prohibited in Islam, as the importance of family, lineage and the blood relations is markedly noticeable in Quran: “It is He (Allah) who created mankind from water, then He has established the relationship of lineage and marriage for your Lord has power over all things” (Quran Sura Al-Furqan 25:54).

In genetic gestational surrogacy without donation, breakdown of lineage is impossible, as the biological parents are already known. There is no any adultery in the embryo-transfer procedure that is performed in the IVF Clinic. The only one question that arises here is who the real mother is: the surrogate mother who gives birth to the child or the genetic one?

Quran defines motherhood as: “Their mothers are only those who conceived them and gave birth to them (waladna hum) (Al Quran Surah al-Mujadalah 58:2).

So, there is a mention about the whole procedure from the fertilization moment, including the pregnancy period and the delivery. Thus, Quran denies unconditionally any rights to genetic mother in surrogacy agreement. On the other hand, there are a lot of examples when action was prohibited by Quran, but it was allowed anyway for the necessity and public benefits (usage of insulin made of pork or even transplantation of reproductive organs).

Prophet Muhammad says: “For every disease, there is a cure except senility” (Hadit, Bukhary and Muslaam). So, in case we are talking about surrogacy as about the way of infertility treatment and an absolute necessity for procreation, it is totally possible since both mothers (surrogate and genetic) agree with their roles in this process and legal system will help with the regulation of their legal status.

As it is written in Quran “We did send apostles, before thee, and appointed for them wives and children” (Quran Sura Al-R’ad 13:38).

Surrogacy and Buddhism

Buddhism spread throughout Asia and divided into three major branches, each with distinctive beliefs, practices and cultural nuances: Theravada Buddhism in Southern and Southeast Asia (Sri Lanka, Myanmar, Thailand, Laos, Cambodia and Vietnam), Mahayana Buddhism in eastern Asia (China, Korea and Japan) and Vajrayana Buddhism in Central Asia (Tibet).

Buddhism adheres to the basic Indian view, one shared with Hinduism and Jainism, that human existence is a part of ongoing cycle of multiple lifetimes (samsara) the circumstances of which are governed by one’s deeds or actions (karma). Not surprisingly, Buddhist texts offer little direct guidance in such modern issues as artificial insemination and IVF.

Since Buddhism typically value renouncing ideas and consider marriage or divorce as cultural or civil rather than religious affairs, there is no biblical injunction here to be fruitful and multiply. Meanwhile, Buddhism, unlike Christianity, Judaism or Islam, doesn’t make procreation a moral duty.

From the point of view of Buddhist monks, surrogacy is not prohibited by Buddhist teachings. If surrogacy is done with the spirit of generosity, then surrogacy would be considered as a good thing. Many of Thai women, as followers of Theravada Buddhism, have a strong sense of desire to be useful to their fellow women suffering from inability to bear children. There are also those who possess a strong altruistic motivation to help people in a state of suspended atonement for their sins for the purpose of thamboon (accumulating virtue). The Thai populace, of whom 94% believe in thamboon and reincarnation, have a tolerant attitude toward commercial surrogacy.

However, if surrogacy is made with an unwholesome intent, using the procedure to bypass nature, and conceive a baby for personal advantage intent to abuse of natural order as well as lowering the dignity of humanity is would be considered wrong.

According to the Buddhists traditions, children have the right to know their origin since they reach maturity. The same situation is with Hinduism, where surrogacy is allowed, but unknown donation is not, because the child would not know its lineage.

Surrogacy and Judaism

Nowadays three sects of Judaism exist: the Orthodox Jews (around 10%), the conservative Jews (about 5%) and reformed Jews (85%).

Procreation is the first command in the Torah: “Be fruitful and multiply and fill up the Earth”. Torah has the same stories of third party intervention (surrogacy) as the Bible. In this light, today’s children who are born without violating the sacred sexual intimacy of marriage, as well as artificial insemination by a donor are not considered as an act of adultery by halakhic authorities.

The other category of third-party intervention presented in the Torah, demonstrates the willingness to redraft familial lines to overcome infertility. Familiar continuity and having a child was so great value that it overrode the societal norm of familial boundaries. When a man died childless, his next of kin was commanded to procreate with the widow in order to perpetuate the deceased’s name and memory. When Tamar’s husband, Er, died without issue, her father-in-law, Judah, said to his second son, Onan: “Join with your brother’s wife and do your duty by her as a brother-in-law and provide offspring for your brother” (Genesis 32:8).

So, in principle Halakha rejects the all-encompassing conception that everything must be “realized in the conjugal act wherein the spouses cooperate as servants and not as masters in the work of the Creator, who is love.” And for all sects of Jews IVF is allowed if it is mandatory for procreation reasons. Even possible to do PGD as the soul does not enter the body until 40 days (there is no body yet and the embryo is considered as “bare water”).

Rabbis universally accept the use of medical technology, as “just as tree does not grow if it is not fertilized, plowed and weeded – and even if it already grew, but then is not watered it dies. So, the body is like a tree: the medicine is the fertilizer and the doctor is the farmer”.

Nevertheless there are still some ethical controversies regarding the process of surrogacy. For example, there is such question as who is the halakhic mother of the child: is the biological mother or gestational one? It is not clear when motherhood starts: is in the moment of conceiving or in the moment of birth? That’s why Jews prefer that both mothers, gestational and genetic, are Jewish so to avoid any problems in the future regarding the question if the baby is Jewish or not.

The same situation is with sperm collection for any form of assisted reproduction, because masturbation is forbidden. But in fact even TESE is allowed in case of infertility, as the main rule still “be fruitful and multiply”. In some sources is even mentioned that it is possible to make sex-selection if the couple have at least four children of the same sex.

Anyway, surrogacy is not recommended to anyone according to the Judaism. Otherwise, it is better to find a good Rabbi for each infertile couple to get proper advice about it.

In conclusion, we want to say that primary sources of religious texts are of course very important for understanding the moral and ethical values, protected by humanity for ages as sacred and immutable truth. Meanwhile, we need to take into account that we live in a rapidly developing world imbued with technical progress, which gives us abilities to treat diseases in a new way, as we have never done before. And if nowadays we can treat infertility using assisted reproductive technologies, we do not pretend to be God, we are trying to understand this World and at least to help God to bring new life to it. As even if the embryo is done in laboratory conditions, the life to its first cells must be given by God.

Share this post

Loading...